Blog Banter 23: Incarna

Welcome to the twenty-third installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week or so to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com. Check for other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!


With Incursion giving us glimpses of what Incarna will have to offer (the the Character Creator), this month’s topic, by @Minerpewpew, comes just at the right time. He asks “What are your thoughts on how Incarna will effect the current EVE Online social dynamic?” I’d like to see this questioning go a bit further. How will this affect EVE’s player base? Who will Incarna attract? New players to the genre? Seduce old players back into the game? Will we see new players come in that will never leave their station? Please explore to the best of your abilities!

=========================================================

I hate having to fall back on my corp/alliance mates for subject matter, especially regarding a subject that I am truly ambivalent about.  Rather than just post something along the lines of “I dunno, could be epic, could suck” and disappoint my three readers, I did ask the question in Teamspeak last night hoping to get a discussion started.  I was surprised that there were several folks who not only had opinions, but actually pretty strong ones, which makes my task with this Blog Banter so much easier.

“Incarna is CCP’s attempt to bring female gamers to the table.”  Really?  Now, I’m not a woman (which is a good thing – if I had boobs to play with I’d never leave the house) but does this stereotype female gamers such that they need “fluff” in order to get into a game?  I thought EVE stood on the strength of it’s content, depth and variety – characteristics any gamer needs in a good MMO.  I personally doubt that being able to put clothes on your avatar and walk in a station is going to be the tipping point for a female gamer.

“Incarna opens possibilities up for actual SERVICES in a station.”  Now this I get.  I have to admit that the one appeal of Incarna for me is being able to actually get out and walk to the local watering hole and hang out with my corpmates.  If we can play poker or bet on something, so much the better.  One of my corpies also brought up the idea of being able to go to the ‘doctor’ in the station who could, for a fee of course, remove your implants or give you a booster without any side effects.  Those scenarios could be pretty cool.

“CCP better not make it so I HAVE to get out to do crap I need to, like buying from the market.”  Gotta agree with this perspective.  I’ve been accused of being anti-social before (see boob comment above) and if I want to stay in my ship, I should be able to.  I better not have to get out and walk to some damn kiosk to access the market.  If Incarna becomes a forced interaction, I, and several of my corpies, will not be happy.

So, although we think we know what Incarna is all about, the players that I know and talk to are awaiting it like the bitter vets that we are.  We’re not excited about it, nor are we hating on it.  If it adds voluntary depth to the game I think we’ll just continue playing like we always have.  Personally, I’m looking forward to the character generation as I would like to change up Tai’s look a bit;  I have a picture of him in my head and I hope I can express that with the new tools CCP is giving us.  I think it might be neat to get out and walk around once or twice but really, after the newness wears off, I’m going to get back in my ship and get back out there to generate some ISK.

This entry was posted in EVE Blog Banter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blog Banter 23: Incarna

  1. Kalaratiri says:

    Not a lot of people seem to have thought about the RP prospects of Incarna. As it stands, if my alliance want to have a ‘bar meet’ we all dock up in the same station and join a ‘bar’ channel. Commence gossip and emote drinking ;). However with Incarna we will be able to actually own a bar, therefore making it much easier to meet. It will also serve to get rid of a channel full of /me’s. Being able to actually see another’s character is another plus, as till now we have had to make do with a head and shoulders portrait and some guess work (commence flirting XD).

    Fly Safe

    • Tai Maac says:

      It wasn’t really germane to the topic, but I really wonder how they’ll manage the scale of the interiors. Stations are huge! I think the ‘wow’ factor will wear off pretty quickly for me unless there’s a way to actually make ISK from a station activity; I have an expensive PvP habit to support after all.

      Thanks for reading and commenting, I appreciate it!

  2. Kalaratiri says:

    No problem, its a nice blog 🙂 As for making money, I think they were thinking of including a kind of gambling mini-game, as well as a few strategy game type things. Also, you will be able to set up clothing shops etc. The size is a legitimate problem, and as they don’t allow your character to run (at least they didn’t at the fanfest demo [watch that video if you haven’t. its awesome 🙂 ]) they were thinking of installing travellator type things. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r7R6AxoO8yY (Incarna preview from fanfest)

    Fly Safe

  3. Selina says:

    Stations are massive, but Capsuleers are considered elite civilization. If I’m not mistaken, I believe there’s areas in the Eve fiction that talk about the Capsuleers having their own sections of the stations, sections that bar entry to the “lesser” folk. Would definitely be a good excuse for the areas we’ll get to move about in as not being massive and will also help explain away why we’d see so few other non-capsuleer folks about.

Leave a Reply

