2010 Retrospective

So, in thinking about the new year that is upon us, I thought it would be worthwhile to take a look at the year that was and spin things up for 2011.  We’ve been doing a lot of ‘strategic planning’ at work and naturally, my thoughts turned to my EVE goals as well.

2010 was a year of change for me.  I joined my current corp after a somewhat extended hiatus from the game.  I moved to our current slice of Pure Blind in June and got myself acclimated.  Since then I’ve concentrated on sub-battleship skills including a worthwhile detour into the skills required to effectively use boosters.  Looking back from where I was in January 2010, I’ve graduated into Recon Cruisers and Logistics and have some limited Leadership skills for small fleet command.  I’ve gained some experience in FC’ing and I’ve made and spent more ISK than I ever thought possible when I first subscribed to EVE in December of 2008.

Looking forward to 2011 I have some short-term and long-term goals.  The short-term are easy; finishing up Logistics 5 and Recon 5 by the end of February.  I’ll then skill up to be an effective interdictor pilot to fit my long-term goals.  Looking further into the year, I’d love to see Tai fully cross-trained to fly all Amarr and Minnie sub-BS ships.  By the end of 2011 I’d like to be in my first capital ship.  Between now and then I want to establish myself as an effective small-gang FC.  I’m planning to get back in the swing of commanding some roams, graduating to some specialized fleets such as snipe HAC and armor HAC gangs.  Being able to fly a Sabre and/or a Rapier will help as I’d rather be catching stuff for my fleet to kill.

I’m also looking forward to the changes to the character creator.  I mentioned in another post that I had a certain ‘look’ I was going to give Tai and tonight I spent some time on the test server exploring the options available.  To give everyone some insight, here is Tai’s current in-game portrait:

Pretty standard Caldari Achura male.  I always pictured Tai having a sort of ‘snooty’ attitude, but not being physically intimidating.  He always seemed to be proud of his Caldari heritage and I wanted to generate an avatar that would reflect that.  I wanted a somewhat memorable appearance but one that took the basics of his current portrait and just ‘amplified’ them a bit.  After updating my test client, I spent probably two hours doing nothing but modeling him.  The interface is still a bit buggy (hair color especially), but being able to actually ‘sculpt’ Tai’s features was a refreshing experience.  I feel like he is much more a product of my imagination rather than an amalgam of all the other Caldari Achura portraits and options I’ve seen.  So, without further ado, here is the 2011 version of Tai:

And here’s the portrait I think I really like:

So, there you have it.  My only hope is that I can re-create his appearance when the character editor goes live.

So, I ask you, dear reader; what are your goals for 2011?  What gives you ‘verve’ in the game right now, and how does that translate over the span of the upcoming year?  I wish all of you a prosperous New Year (unless you’re red to me, and then I wish you flaming death).

This entry was posted in Other EVE stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2010 Retrospective

  1. Kalaratiri says:

    Goals… I aim to be fully skilled in all 4 races cruisers by the end of april, and flying logistics by may. After that, going back and getting all the frigates to 5 and training for bombers and assault frigs. By the end of the year I want to well skilled in most t2 frigates and cruisers. T2 guns would be nice too. I’ve spent the equivalent of about 2 days on the character creator and I’ve dumped all my screenshots here http://s1104.photobucket.com/albums/h333/Kalaratiri/ Yes, I know number 4 looks stoned, but it’s because she blinked 🙂

Leave a Reply

