Fun

In the end, that’s why we all play this game, right?  Now, your idea of fun may not be the same as mine, but the last few nights have been right up my alley and I have been having a lot of fun.  Small gang roams with good FC’s that make ships go ‘ka-blooey’, some tears, getting to know a new ship; all in all there’s lots of good things happening lately.

First off, the ship.  Painted like a tiger (cue Charlie Sheen), the Huginn is the Rapier’s cousin that seems to get little love.  Looking at the stats, I’m not sure why since they are nearly equal stat wise.  Sure, the Huginn gets one less low and has 50 less CPU but I sort of like the trade-off given that you can fill your highs with projectiles AND missiles.  If we needed a cloak then the Rapier would be the obvious choice but most of the time the Rapier is added to the gang to pin stuff down and keep it from getting back to the gate.
Previously, I had fitted my Huginn with gank in mind.  After flying it in a gang one time, I realized I was contributing nothing other than drone DPS and my web bonuses to the fight.  The fit used 3 HAM launchers and 3 220 Autos, meaning I had to be right on top of something in order to even hit.  The rigs were even more lol-tastic using a Loading Accelerator in one of the slots.  I suppose if we were sitting around camping a bubble or gate it would be an okay fit but for fast-moving, shield-tanking small gangs it was sub-optimal at best.  To re-tool my fit, I looked at increasing the range at which I could apply DPS, maximizing my shield tank and increasing the mobility of the ship.  Here’s what I came up with:


[Huginn, HML+425_RK]
Damage Control II
Nanofiber Internal Structure II
Reactor Control Unit II

10MN MicroWarpdrive II
Stasis Webifier II
Stasis Webifier II
Large Shield Extender II
Invulnerability Field II
Warp Disruptor II

425mm AutoCannon II, Barrage M
425mm AutoCannon II, Barrage M
425mm AutoCannon II, Barrage M
Heavy Missile Launcher II, Caldari Navy Thunderbolt Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher II, Caldari Navy Thunderbolt Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher II, Caldari Navy Thunderbolt Heavy Missile

Medium Polycarbon Engine Housing I
Medium Polycarbon Engine Housing I

Hobgoblin II x5

The DPS is okay, around 300-ish, assuming I can get everything + drones on the target and with my shield buffer I end up around 20K EHP.  It’s nimble enough to keep pace with the gang, has enough staying power to function as true heavy tackle (especially if we have a Scimitar in gang) and the DPS is a good contribution.  Plus, there’s something kind of cool about green-colored engine flares.

So, with the new Huginn fitted up and ready, we went out looking for trouble.  This was a couple nights ago so my memory is a bit foggy but I know our first victim was this Hurricane that jumped into our gang, followed not long after by a Lachesis in a neighboring system.  Yet another MM ‘cane jumped into us (on the same gate even) and met a similar fate.   We than began some mis-adventures in EO2, trying to kill a Bhaalgorn on the station who wisely docked up as our gang landed on grid.  After a short bio break we moved to the M-M gate and waited for our scout to find something worthwhile.  We saved him the trouble when a lone Guardian landed on the gate and jumped through, only to get popped on the other side as we jumped with him.  We moved on to NIH with our scout heading to the station in N-D, one system over.  It turns out that our scout knows the pilot of a vagabond hanging around the station as he has tangled with him before.  He likes to dual-box with a cloaking scimitar to play PvP in ‘safe mode’.  After a bit of ‘mild dis-information’ via local, he aggros.  Our fleet jumps in, nails the vagabond, almost gets the scimitar and extracts tears:

FASIN RACE > hahaha ur real funny arnet ya
 FASIN RACE > wait lemme guess ur a 14 yr old girl

He could have saved some face if he had just blamed alcohol or lag.

Moving on, we managed to kill this pimped Daredevil who aggro’d our scout on the station.  Better still, we podded the pilot and found out that we extracted even moar tears via another pilot in EO2:

[07:34:47] Trazis  lol awsome
[07:35:25] Trazis  fun fact
[07:35:30] Trazis  he had +5’s
[07:35:34] Trazis  he raged hard

Our last engagement occurred in EIN where our scout got a Cynabal to engage at our in gate.  As local bumped to 3 we were ordered to jump.  We were unable to pin the Cynabal down as he popped our scout (and the lootz from the Dramiel…) but his buddies in a Vagabond and Hurricane landed on our bubble.  The Hurricane was called primary but being a good Huginn pilot I locked both and once point/scram was called on the ‘cane I quickly dual-webbed the Vaga.  I know we had a Rapier in fleet as well but I’m choosing to believe that me holding him down allowed the secondary scram to be applied before he could make his escape.  Regardless, both the Hurricane and the Vagabond popped.  The only other notable kill was in the same system when we popped a Drake who picked the wrong gate to jump through.

The totals for the roam were upwards of 1 billion in ship kills versus 70 million in the single loss.  I was dog-tired the next morning considering how late/early it was when I logged but having this much fun made it all worthwhile.

This entry was posted in Roams and Fights and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fun

  1. Dism0 says:

    nice kills. im jealous!

Leave a Reply

