Fourteen Days

I have now been a member of Noir. for two weeks.  These two weeks have been an introduction into a style of combat that I have never experienced until now.  Always before I had undocked looking for the “good fight” just for the sake of the fight.  It was fun, to be sure, but now there is definite purpose to the fight.  I have some thoughts about asymmetrical combat and how that fits into what I’m doing now but I need some more time for them to gel.  I can see the genesis of what may be several posts on the topic once they stop sloshing around my brain.

Since joining Noir. I’ve been flying a Purifier on our current contract.  It’s the first time I’ve flown a bomber and to be honest, I don’t like it.  The advantages of high DPS/alpha and warping while cloaked aren’t offset enough by it’s incredibly slow AU/sec warp speed and pathetic maneuverability.  I’m planning to swap it out for something else that I actually enjoy flying tonight.  The Dramiel tempts me like a tempting temptress…  I’ve also thought about unpacking my Curse or buying a Vagabond.  Decisions, decisions.

Speaking of choices, I really liked Eelis Kiy’s post titled “Killmail Ship Stats – What Do Yours Say About You?”  I have combed my killboard and here’s what mine say about me.

First off, my kill totals seem really, really low for a two-year-old character.  Granted, Tai sat in a station training learning skills for the first four months of his career and there were a couple periods of inactivity, but 259 kills in 18 months works out to less than a kill every two days.  I gotta get busy…

Armageddon: 57 kills (22% of total).   This was my POS-bashing ship of choice.  It’s no wonder I got burned out with the big fleets.

Harbinger: 45 kills (17% of total).  If there was a call for a BC gang, shield or armor, this was my first choice.  I do enjoy the Harb as a brawling battlecruiser though it leaves much to be desired in terms of agility.

Zealot: 25 kills (9% of total).  I started flying the Zealot as an alternative to the Harbinger.  I found that even shield-tanked it did a much better job controlling range and keeping up with shield fleets where people normally flew a…

Hurricane: 20 kills (8% of total).  I accumulated all of these kills within the past 30 days or so since finishing up my medium projectile specs.  Love the ‘cane.

Arbitrator: 19 kills (8% of total).  My favorite T1 cruiser.  So much fun to fly with a shot of Exile and dual reps.  Check out my Arbitrator Guide for more discussion on the golden wedge of death.

Purifier: 15 kills (6% of total).  Accumulated all within the past 14 days.  As I mentioned before, I think these may be the LAST 15 kills I get with it.

Huginn: 12 kills (5% of total).  I’ve blogged about my Huginn before.  I kind of dig it but it’s usefulness is somewhat limited, especially in situations where a Rapier offers more flexibility.  If you’re just brawling/camping on a gate it’s pretty good.  Plus it has green engine exhaust.  Green!

Rifter: 12 kills (5% of total).  Most of these kills were from my time in Red vs Blue.

All my other ships make up the rest.  I have a few kills in other assorted T1 and T2 cruisers.  I was surprised that I only have 9 kills in a Curse.  It seemed like that was all I was flying for a good bit of time but I was probably constantly primaried and warping in and out of the fights.

Thanks again to Eelis for a fun exercise.

….Non-EVE content ahead….

With the return of warmer weather I’ve started running again, averaging about 6-10 miles a week.  I’ve built back up to last fall’s endurance and pace and signed up for a 5K on May 14th.  I’ve set out a training schedule for the rest of the summer and if all goes according to plan I’ll run a few more races and end 2011 by running in the Kansas City Marathon in October.  Wish me luck.

This entry was posted in General Interest, Noir., Other EVE stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

